a million annie’s epic birthday show, at Cranes 3/10

You wanted to be entertained, didn’t you?

You wanted a sweet salty taste of Memphis in Hollywood, right?

You had to be summoned by one of the most entertaining of the entertainers, huh?

You wanted it, and it was served with a side order of slaw. flyers.

a million annies ePIC birthday show

fly on flyer.

I made flyers and posted an event on facebook you can go and see on annies facebook page for my show. I rocked on my birthday. simple as that. No cake, just a special muffin from Trip. No candles, I got all the light I need right in my heart.

“A Million Annies” came from much stalking on Myspace, back when it was cool. A Million Annies MySpace page, that’s where you can find a cool song Jeff Pope produced.  The name is very suitable for quite the Swiss Army Knife of Entertainers, Annie G. Known in the local film community as “Smilin Anne”, name of the character played in “On Holiday”, a film by Brian McGuire, featuring John Hawkes and more epic cast members.

Wow, I just went on a tangent about myself, and I tried to keep it cool. It’s 5:23a.m., I’ve been touching up photos from the birthday gig since 7pm. Which is why I’m writing this blog. The fact that I am becoming an epic photographer AND I can say that after 20 years of singing musicals, karaoke, and choir, I am an absolute rock  star. Where’s the modesty? It’s with the Mouse. I’m tired of not taking my talents and running with them. I’m tired of being quiet.

It all started last year at Cranes Hollywood Tavern, my “Fishy Fishy Swim Swim Party 69th Day of the Year”, where I just sang Fleetwood Mac and “Wild Horses” by The Rolling Stones. My boyfriend at the time, D Henry Fenton played acoustic guitar as my dear friend and bad-ass singer/songwriter, Jesse Cole played lead guitar. It was… fun. But this year I wanted it to be epic, I wanted all of Hollywood to see how amazing or stupid I am. I wanted God to point me in the right path, “Here, Annie, Go for it…” or “See? You need to find a job, it’s just not working out for you on the stage.”

So, I wrote a sad country song named Daddy Dont Drink, with the help of D Henry Fenton, who is working on his new album. He’s got the biggest soul, and knows all the right-hearted people. His songs are why I dated him. “Daddy” was played at the Epic Birthday Show, and I must say, I think I’ve got something. Something which only needs some water, some love, and some fans. It’s epic. EPIC, EPIC, EPIC to sing for people about a matter that hurts in your life. In your busy life of bar diving and taking pictures of bands, it’s nice to know that your gifts are heard at the end of the day. Daddy Don\’t Drink by Annie Gaia

That was the only original song of the night. I just wanted something that the Mitchells Folly boys didn’t have to rehearse on more than an hour, which really was all the time we needed. Houston Wages writes good songs, go check him out. He and Jesse Cole are both from my hometown of Memphis, but I met him in LA.Glendale Centre Theatrebest moment everThe boys can pick up fast AND kick ass at it. We rehearsed at their house in Eagle Rock, but I call it “Eagle Cock.” I use to hate that they moved so far, but when i got a  place in Los Feliz with a Marine (yes, blog about that one next time, seriously film material), the drive is only 7 minutes.”Eagle Cock” is fun to say. Anyways, I’m just ranting, I don’t know how these blogs are supposed to be, so screw you.

The other songs as in the set, beginning with “That’s Alright Momma” by Elvis (I was in Judith Mishugina attire, my 90-year-old Jewish character I perform stand-up in around LA and Memphis, but took off the wig, too hot under the silver trench coat mom mailed me). My cast members tell me that they had no idea I could sing, but when I opened my mouth for the low sassy blues song, they were floored. Done and one.  After Elvis was Willie. The band got Staxy in our remake of “Shotgun Willie”. I had to change the last verse, a bit on the racy side. The trench coat was off and we reveal Epic Outfit #1: The June Carter dress, white high-collared and long balloon sleeves for the top portion, with an every flowing colorful flower design for the bottom portion. It’s still in a bag in my trunk actually. Crap, I gotta get organized, that was 5 days ago. Shit.

Song #3 was the only original song on in the set, Daddy Dont Drink. It made my girl, Nikki, cry, she knows the back story, we have the same birthday. We had to lighten the mood up, so what better way to do it then with more Elvis. But you can’t dance with a long epic Carter gown on, now can you? Hell no, it’s an epic show, clothes must be taken off!!!! So I got Luke to play something slow and bluesy on the drums while I got the audience to participate in “Bow chicka bow wows” to help me unzip and get hip. They had to be loud.

grab it

What better way then to dance a tease dance? “Daddy” is a depressing song about alcoholism, you have to go somewhere else, like WHY we drink alcohol in the first place… to take our clothes off! So, they sang, and I came out of the cocoon  June dress and became an Italian sparkle of a butt-er fly. See the photos, my ass is looking awesome, thank you,___! (Not plugging you, b/c the pants weren’t free.) During”Jailhouse Rock”, my butt was a disco ball, my black corsette and bra from an estate sale in Orange County, were looking hot. My luscious fake eye lashes I wear as Katty in “Pinocchio” at Glendale Centre Theatre Kattywere battin and winkin at all the boys, they loved them some Smilin Anne! I got on the dance floor, the crowd was young, the regualar Beachwood Canyon Rockers… They were in fact-my friends. It was an early bird show, at 9, I don’t even go to cranes until after 11. All the way from Vesper Theatre Company to G.C.T., to the younger brothers and sisters from the band members, I had a lovely crowd. Most importantly, the amazing and mystical Sabrina Vedetche appeared and I danced with her during Elvis.

"Moaning Lisa"Soon, others followed. (Sabrina was the friend whom took me from Burning Man to LA when I missed my ride back to Memphis. That’s how I got here in the first place. Another blog)

After  “Jailhouse” was another favorite of mine, “Wild Horses” by The Rolling Stones.  Jim Dickinson passed away this year, I thought I’d pay homage to the legendary Memphian musician. The backup singers came onstage. Both girls have long, heavy locks of curls, and leopard print. Jesse started playing the electric guitar, and by playing, I mean he made the thing cry.

the band at Cranes for annie's epic birthday gig
Smilin Anne has a hold on you

I thought it was too slow. The crowd was uber quiet, I figured they were bored. Houston Wages sang back up as well, I had like, a freaking choir of the most amazing singers in the world with me. Not kidding you, man, these people do it for a living. I can’t say the names of the backup singers, but I will tell you they are hot and live in Nashville, they flew in for the holiday. With the crowd quiet and Houston on                                                    the $2 keyboard I bought at a yard sale after the wrap party for “On Holiday”, I figured I go fairly country, and not “sing” the song, but tell them about the heart ache. I’s wail on the chorus, making my throat horse and tear-jerkin. The song was so sweet. Then the audience roared, they were totally silent during the song, then a huge “WOOOOO” came over the world. Man, I had no idea people were still in the room. Crane’s is really dark and red, hard to see, but they were there. And oh man, I was feeling it.

Last but not least, “Crazy” by Gnarles Barkley. I raped it. The band gripped the base, hit the beat, and bumped the drums. Dude. It was pretty ridiculous. “I remember when, I remember I remember when I lost my mind.” I figured I’d be as black, or as “African American” as I could be. I shock my ass, then they danced. A bit on the republican side for a crowd, but they fucking loved it! The director for “On Holiday” Brian McGuire and director of “Everything Must Happen Before You Die” Dan Finkel licked their lips and bobbed their heads to my spell I was casting.

Everything Will Happen Before You Die facebook page

On Holiday Facebook pageWay better then being casted, although I love making movies, so rock star and movie star are both on my to-do list, it’s just a matter of letting God take control.

I’m pretty happy, Cranes’s Hollywood Tavern is THE place for fresh, amazing music.

Cranes Hollywood Tavern The line ups are stellar, I do have amazing talented friends. And judging by what all the girls that came, the band is probably the hottest looking group of guys you’d ever see. The girls who came were coming. Ha! But they are my buds, and my buds are sweet, humble, and gifted. Big kids with an adult agenda, who believe in the power of beer and a guitar. They don’t like it when I post pictures and shit, but the better I’m becoming at photography, the more they sort of stay still for me to snap a shot.

“Shot Gun Willie sits around in his underwear!” woo hooo!

So, a million annies ePIC birthday show show was indeed a success. I had all groups of friends there, and my closest ones on stage with me, performing. How epical is that? Huh? Huh?! Dude! The band actually thought I did “pretty good” as Jesse said, with a smile and a nod.   That’s all you need from the genius. Henry even said he’d play in my band. Imagine that? My ex whom  I always wanted to sing back up to, but he got the hot bartender to do so instead, then I broke up with him, and now he wants to be back up for me? Yes! I am no back up singer, I am the frontman.

All it took was a small look in my Jesus Calling book, “The plans I have for you are unimaginable.” This was the best gift mother has ever given me. Every day, a devotional. Every day, I know I am loved. Every day, I am not worried about being jobless… well, that’s sometimes laziness. My it is 6:09am, and it is Sunday. I wanted to got to church at 9. Man, I hate not sleeping, all I do is edit photos. But I will pst them, so you can enjoy! But what’s even cooler than an ice latte spilling in your lap is the fact that people want to see another show. How exciting is that? But fewer covers and more originals. It’s gotta be clean and it’s gotta be epic. So off off with your head, I got some work to do so i can entertain the world.

long live the Epicness of your Imagination.

This Blog will self-destruct in 2 minutes.

xo Annie

Oh! check out annies amazing Vesper Theatre Company, totally amazing, I mean, if you’ve gone this far, you should go ahead and see some more fun things. Man, i really set this up easy for a stalker. ew… maybe this blog thing wasn’t such a good idea.

okay, now it is 11:11 am, I seriously have a new addiction.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment